Sunday, July 15, 2012

The Hunger Games (series)

By: Suzanne Collins

Those who live in the capitol city live in luxury, but those who live in the outlying districts live in poverty.  After the districts tried to rebel, the leaders created an annual event called "The Hunger Games".  A boy and a girl, chosen at random, from each district were required to compete in this battle-to-the-death, televised event.  The main character, Katniss Everdeen, lives in District 12.  Her father was killed in a mining accident, and Katniss must hunt to provide food for her family.  When her younger sister's name is chosen for "The Hunger Games", Katniss immediately volunteers to take her place.

Mrs. Senechal says:
To begin with, I would not recommend this series for students below sixth grade.  This series was suspenseful and intense - I could hardly put the books down.  The characters and setting are very well described - there are similarities to our current lives, but vast differences as well.  The author really brings up tough topics about life and death, relationships, and standing up for yourself in others in extreme situations.  The books can definitely lead to some deep conversations, too.  The stories are phenomenal, but are more appropriate for older children and adults.

No comments: